DWI Attorneys in Waco, TX
Driving while intoxicated (DWI) is a serious charge in Texas that can have long-term consequences. Even a first-offense misdemeanor DWI should not be taken lightly. While you may not wind up with severe jail time if convicted, you will face heavy fines that can put a deep dent in your finances, lose your driving privileges, and end up with a black mark on your criminal record. A DWI conviction will be accessible to future employers, landlords, educational institutions, and professional licensing agencies through a routine background check that could seriously hamper future opportunities.
Your chances for avoiding such negative repercussions can only be helped with representation from a knowledgeable and dedicated criminal defense lawyer. At Hutson & Harris, we bring solid experience, honed methods and skills, and genuine care to all of our clients, no matter the charges. We are here to thoroughly do our job and give you our best efforts in providing an effective defense. Our goal is to have you achieve a positive outcome by fighting for you every step of the way.
DWI in Texas consists of operating your vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 percent or more which is called “per se” DWI. You can also be arrested by law enforcement who observe signs of intoxication by alcohol or drugs even if your BAC is less than the legal limit. These factors also apply to operating a boat or plane as well. Furthermore, you can be arrested for DWI even in cases where you were not in the actual process of moving the vehicle down the road because the word “operating” is interpreted very broadly in Texas.
If convicted, the penalties you will face will be based on the following factors:
- Whether you have prior DWI convictions.
- Your BAC level. A BAC of .15 percent or more is punished more severely.
- Whether your DWI involved having a child passenger under the age of 15.
- Whether you refused to take a chemical test.
A first-offense DWI is charged as a Class B misdemeanor carrying penalties of six to 180 days in jail, fines of up to $2,000, a license suspension of 90 days to a year, and a license retention fee of $1,000 or $2,000. A second conviction is charged as a more serious Class A misdemeanor, and a third or subsequent conviction is generally charged as a felony. Additional consequences can include the need for an ignition interlock device, substance abuse treatment/programs, and increased auto insurance premiums.
DWI defenses can be brought to bear on the evidence against you in many ways. These can be based on improperly calibrated or maintained breathalyzers, medical conditions that can impact test results, illegal traffic stops, other procedural errors, and violations of your rights. Hutson & Harris will investigate all factors related to your case to build your defense.
Work with a Waco DWI Lawyer at Our Firm
When arrested for DWI, you should act quickly by bringing in one of our experienced attorneys. Do not discuss your case with law enforcement or sign any plea deals until you consult with us first. We can provide the knowledgeable guidance you need, ensure your rights are protected, and take appropriate steps on your behalf. Our help may lead to charges being dropped or reduced or a case dismissal, depending on the circumstances. Either way, you have the right to a highly-qualified defense which our firm can provide.
WE WILL WORK TO CHANGE YOUR OPINION ABOUT LAWYERS
It’s unfortunate that so many people view lawyers as a necessary evil. You should like and trust your lawyer.
WE WILL FIGHT TO GET YOU THE BEST POSSIBLE DEAL
There are few things in the legal system that cannot be resolved through effective, aggressive negotiation backed up by trial skills.
WE WILL TREAT YOU LIKE A HUMAN BEING, NOT A CASE FILE
You’re a person, not an ATM. Too many attorneys treat their clients that way, but not us.